Connect with us


GJA Elections: Filing of nominations ends

Filing of nominations for various executive positions for the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) ended by close of work on Tuesday May 4, 2021.

Those who filed for the presidency are: Mr Albert Kwabena Dwumfuor of Atinka Media Village, Mr Gayheart Mensah, a Media Consultant and Mr Dave Agbenu of the New Times Corporation.

Mrs Linda Asante-Agyei of the Ghana News Agency (GNA), filed for the position of Vice President, while Mrs Audrey Dekalu, also of the GNA, filed for the position of Treasurer.

Others are: Mr Kofi Yeboah-General Secretary, Mr Akwasi Agyeman of the Multimedia Group-General Secretary, Ms Mary Mensah of the Graphic Communications Group Limited-Organising Secretary, Mr Dominic Hlordze of GBC, Organising Secretary and Mrs Rebecca Ekpe of GBC, and Caesar Abagali of Ghana News Agency, both for Public Affairs Officer .

Mr Peter Agbeko, a member and Secretary of the GJA Elections Committee, received the nomination forms on behalf of the Committee and wished the aspirants good luck, while entreating them to prepare for vetting.

Nominations for the elections commenced on Tuesday April 13, 2021.
The candidates promised to conduct their campaigns peacefully and transform the fortunes of the Association if voted into office.

Aspirants for regional positions also filed nominations in regions across the country.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Security isn’t EC’s job; but lives should never be lost in an election – Jean Mensa

Electoral Commission Chairperson Jean Mensa still at post - Graphic Online

The Electoral Commission (EC), has absolved itself of blame for the electoral violence that resulted in the death of some persons in the 2020 elections.

Many have criticized the EC for superintending over an election that led to the demise of some voters, something that has never happened under the 4th Republic.

Speaking at an IPAC review workshop on the 2020 polls, the Chairperson of the Commission, Jean Mensa, while condemning the violence and the deaths, indicated that security is not part of the responsibilities of her outfit.

“An exceedingly disturbing challenge is the violence which led to the death of citizens of our country. And we say never again. Never again should we go to an election and have anybody lose their lives. Here also, there is a tendency for fingers to be pointed at the EC when security is not the core mandate of the EC.

“I have read the constitution and security is not part of our core mandate. I use this occasion to clarify that the EC is not responsible for election security, although the entire election and its success rest on the shoulders of the Commission. Our mandate as entrenched in the Constitution does not include security.”

This is one of the few times the Electoral Commission chair has spoken strongly to condemn the violence and the subsequent deaths recorded in the election.

The Commission had initially heaped praises on itself for the way the election was conducted, regardless of the deaths and the many disagreements that eventually led to an election petition by the opposition NDC’s Presidential Candidate, John Dramani Mahama, to challenge the Presidential results at the Supreme Court.

Some parliamentary election results, notably that of Techiman South, is currently being contested in court between the NDC and the NPP candidates.

There were 61 recorded cases of electoral and post-electoral violence across the country, according to the police.

Six members of the Minority have already tabled a private members’ motion in the House seeking a full-scale probe into acts of violence that occurred in the 2020 general elections.

The MPs; Haruna Iddrisu, Muntaka Mubarak, Mahama Ayariga, Alhassan Suhuyini, and James Agalga want the scope of the probe to take a look at the inappropriate interferences by state security in the elections, and violence against citizens, leading to the loss of lives.

They insist the IGP and other security agencies reneged on a promise to Parliament and Ghanaians to protect lives.

Many have criticized the government for doing little about the violence and the deaths through an investigation to bring the perpetrators to book.

2020 election deaths have dented Ghana’s image – Ibn Chambas

The immediate past Head of the United Nations Office for West Africa and the Sahel (UNOWAS), Dr. Mohammed Ibn Chambas, has said the deaths that were recorded in the 2020 general elections have dented the country’s image.

According to him, Ghana needs to work to reclaim its enviable democratic credentials on the continent.

Continue Reading


Students of Akropong Sch for the Blind embark on demo; demand removal of ‘abusive’ headmistress

Students of Akropong Sch for the Blind embark on demo; demand removal of ‘abusive’ headmistress

Some students of the Akropong School for the Blind in Akuapem United North Municipality in Eastern Region Friday embarked on a demonstration demanding the immediate removal of the headmistress of the school, Madam Mahela Narh.

The students say the headmistress has been diverting donated items for her personal use and sometimes selling them.

More soon…

Source : 3news

Continue Reading


Modify collation structure to prevent chaos during polls – Mac Manu to EC

 former Chairman of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), Peter Mac Manu, has called on the Electoral Commission to modify the collation structure introduced in the 2020 general elections.

The Electoral Commission in the December 7 election set up collation centres in all the constituencies where officials of the Commission presented results from the various polling centres.

The Commission also set up the regional collation centres.

The former NPP chairman told Citi News the collation structure introduced by the EC played a part in the violence recorded in the elections.

“You set up a collation centre like Techiman South with 265 or so polling stations. It means you expect 265 presiding officers, so the whole place becomes congested and chaotic. More so, because people are eager for results, they come and line up, and this creates uneasiness for people to do the arithmetic.”

“You need a serene atmosphere to do the arithmetic but with this noise and congestion, it becomes chaotic and ultimately false news and propaganda go about that they are stealing and the media start pronouncing that on the airwaves. This creates instability.”

His suggestion comes a day after the Electoral Commission posited that the 2020 general polls were the most successful in the country’s Fourth Republic.

The Director for Training at the Commission, Michael Boadu, at an ongoing post-election workshop by CODEO, attributed the success to their choice of procurement method.

“During the registration, we hired not less than 44,000 persons. In the exhibition, we hired over 71,000 exhibition officers and over 231,000 election officers for the election itself. In addition, between 2016 and 2020, we increased the number of polling stations by 10,000. This means that the Commission hired 146,122 more staff working on the exhibition and the election day alone and yet, we managed to reduce the cost per person by almost half,” he said

The National Democratic Congress however has a different view on the performance of the Jean Mensa-led Electoral Commission.

The NDC, after boycotting an Inter-Party Advisory Committee (IPAC) meeting set to review the December 7 general elections, said the EC was biased.


Continue Reading


Post Categories